1.—Provinces and Territories of Canada, Dates of Admission to Confederation, Legislative Processes by which Admission was Effected and Present Areas

Province, Territory or District	Date of Admission or Creation			Legislative Process	Present Area (sq. miles)
Ontario ¹ . Quebec ² . Nova Scotia. New Brunswick.	July	1,	1867 1867 1867 1867	Act of Imperial Parliament—The British North America Act, 1867 (30-31 Vict., c. 3), and Imperial Order in Council, May 22, 1867.	412,582 594,860 21,068 27,985
Manitoba ³	July	15,	1870	Manitoba Act, 1870 (33 Vict., c. 3) and Imperial Order in Council, June 23, 1870	251,030
British Columbia	July	20,	1871	Imperial Order in Council, May 16, 1871	366,255
Prince Edward Island	July	1,	1873	Imperial Order in Council, June 26, 1873	2,184
Saskatchewan4	Sept.	1,	1905	Saskatchewan Act, 1905 (4-5 Edw. VII, c. 42)	251,700
Alberta4	Sept.	1,	1905	Alberta Act, 1905 (4-5 Edw. VII, c. 3)	255, 285
Newfoundland	Mar.	31,	1949	The British North America Act, 1949 (12-13 Geo. VI, c. 22)	156, 185
Northwest Territories ⁵ Mackenzie ⁵ Keewatin ⁵ Franklin ⁶ .	Jan. Jan.	1,	1870 1920 1920 1920	Act of Imperial Parliament—Rupert's Land Act, 1868 (31-32 Vict., c. 105), and Imperial Order in Council, June 23, 1870	1,304,903 527,490 228,160 549,253
Yukon Territory7	June	13,	1898	Yukon Territory Act, 1898 (61 Vict., c. 6)	207,076
				Canada	3,851,113

¹ The area of Ontario was extended by the Ontario Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V, c. 40).

² Extended by the Extension of Boundaries Act of Manitoba, 1881, and the Manitoba Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V, c. 32).

⁴ Saskatchewan and Alberta created as provinces in 1905 from the area formerly comprised in the provisional Dirticots of Assimibois, Athabases, Alberta and Saskatchewan established May 17, 1882, by minute of Canadian Privy Council Concurred in by Dominion Parliament and Order in Council, Oct. 2, 1895.

⁸ By an Imperial Order in Council passed on June 23, 1870 pursuant to the Rupert's Land Act, 1868 (31-32 Vict., c. 105) the former territories of the Hudson's Bay Company known as Rupert's Land and the North-Western Territory were transferred to Canada effective July 15, 1870. These territories were designated as the North-West Territories by the Act of 32-33 Vict., c. 3 and as the North-west Territories by R.S.C. 1906, c. 62. By Imperial Order in Council of July 31, 1880 (effective Sept. 1, 1880) all British territories and possessions in North America not already included within Canada and all islands adjacent thereto (with the exception of the Colony of Newfoundland and its dependencies) were annexed to Canada and these additional territories were formally included in the North-West Territories by 4-5 Edw. VII, c. 27. The Province of Manitoba was formed out of a portion of the territories by the Manitoba Act, 1870 (33 Vict., c. 3) and a further portion was added to Manitoba in 1881 by 44 Vict., c. 14. The Provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan were formed out of portions of the territories in 1905 and in 1912 other portions were added to Manitoba, Ortario and Quebec.

⁶ By 39 Vict., c. 21, a separate district to be known as the District of Keewatin was established and provision was made for the local government thereof. The Act was expressed to come into force by proclamation. It provided that portions of the District might be re-annexed to the North-West Territories by proclamation; in 1886 a portion of the District of Keewatin was re-annexed and in 1905 the entire Keewatin District was re-annexed. The Act of 39 Vict. was never proclaimed. By Order in Council of May 8, 1882 the provisional districts of Assainbois, Saskatchewan, Alberta and Athabasca were created for the convenience of settlers and for postal purposes. By Order in Council of Oct. 2, 1895 the further provisional districts of Ungava, Franklin, Mackensie and Yukon were created. The boundaries of these provisional districts were re-defined by Order in Council of Dec. 18, 1897. Subsequently the Yukon Territory was formed, the Provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan were created and other portions of the territories were annexed to Quebec, Ontario and Manitoba. By Order in Council, dated Mar. 16, 1918 (effective Jan. 1, 1920) the remaining portions of the Northwest Territories were divided into three provisional districts known as Mackenzie, Keewatin and Franklin.

⁷ The provisional district of Yukon established in 1895 was created a judicial district of the North-West Territories by proclamation issued pursuant to Sect. 51 of the North-West Territories Act (R.S.C. 1886, c. 50) on Aug. 16, 1897 and by the Yukon Territory Act (61 Vict., c. 6) was declared to be a separate Territory.

² Extended by Quebec Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V. c. 45) and diminished Mar. 1, 1927 in consequence of the Award of the Judicial Committee of the British Privy Council whereby approximately 112,000 sq. miles of territory (formerly considered as part of Quebec) was assigned to Newfoundland.